Arfara is built amphitheatrically at Mount Syrroka, at an altitude of 100 metres. It is 18 kilometres from Kalamata, has approximately 1000 permanent residents and is surrounded by olive groves, figs and other fruit trees. Arfara developed into the region's administrative and financial centre during the second half of the 19th century.
Here, visitors can wander through the picturesque alleys with traditional shops and cafes and visit the church of Agioi Theodoroi. The church was founded in 1870 and completed in 1879, as is also written on the curtain of the Beautiful Gate. The vaulted roof of the temple rests on eight columns with relief capitals. The old metropolitan church of Arfara is Agios Vasileios, which was built in 1838 during the resettlement of the inhabitants of Ano Arfara, as evidenced by the built-in stone plaque in the window of the sanctuary. Also, there is the "Historical and Folklore Museum of Arfara", where dozens of traditional objects (tools, furniture, traditional costumes, etc.) are housed. The museum is housed in the building of the Cultural Centre of Arfara (former Niarcheiko liotrivi (olive press)).
South of Arfara, on top of a hill, is the small church of Prophet Ilias, overlooking the Messenian plain. The founder of the church is Ilias Bouras (Bourolias). Also, from 1999 to 2008, a women's monastery (abbey) operated at the site.