

The village of Stenyklaros, one of the oldest in Messinia, is 4 km from Meligalas and 34 km from Kalamata. It is built at an altitude of 90 metres and has about 70 permanent residents. The village is built in two fertile valleys, Agios Ioannis and Agios Petros. In the first, the small church of Agios Ioannis was destroyed during the Turkish occupation and was rebuilt in 1947. Even today, water gushes from the foundations of the church.
The village’s name is due to the ancient city of Stenyklaro, which was located in the broader area. In fact, according to the traveller Pausanias, it was built by the mythical hero Stenykliros. The first king of Messina, Cresfondis, built his palace and made the city his seat. During the first Messinian wars, Stenyklaros was the battlefield between the Messinians and the Spartans and was destroyed by the victorious Lacedaemonians. Ruins of ancient baths have been discovered in the area (near the Xastero torrent), which unfortunately have not been used archaeologically.
During the Turkish occupation, the village was called Alitouri, probably by Aga Ali-Touris, who ruled the area. Even today, the name Alituri is used by the locals.
In the village, the visitor can see the parish church of Agios Georgios. On the support of Agia Trapeza (Holly Table), a square slab with the following ancient inscription is preserved: "The city of Asklipiadin Mnasistraton, the star of the holy parliament". This is an inscription of 207 BC, dedicated to the hierophant Mnasistratos. In fact, when the Swedish archaeologist Mattias Natan Valmin visited the village in 1929, he copied it.