Kato Melpeia is a village in northern Messinia rooted at the bottom of Mount Tetrazi. It is 40 kilometres away from Kalamata and 15 kilometres away from Meligalas, which is also the centre of the municipality of Oichalia, where it belongs. The village measures a history route of 3,300 years. According to historical literature, the first houses were built in 1260 BC, when Nestor was king in Pylos, at Greben location, above the Cube springs and below the Frankish castle, which was built much later, around 1300 AD.
In 612 BC. this area was inhabited by the Alkmaeonians, exiled by the Athenians because they were held responsible for the death of Kylon. They called the city Galazion. "Polis Galazion Esti" wrote the marble inscription found there in 1940. A resolution by the Athenians of the 3rd century BC was also found.
In 748 AD it was renamed Garantza by the Slavs, which, in their language, meant security. Finally, in 1927 AD with the Presidential Decree "On the Renaming of Municipalities and Communities" it was named Melpeia. Whatever its name, however, one is certain: the visitor will be impressed by its natural beauty.
Picturesque and full of vegetation it is a place that can only be admired. It is crossed by many rivers. Its charming atmosphere, its unique natural beauty, its hospitable people and its aesthetics make it the most beautiful village of Ano Messinia. Floral gardens, plane trees, crystal clear fountains, traditional taverns, cafes, stone bridges and the Frankish castle compose a landscape of fairytale beauty.
Apart from everything previously mentioned, the area is distinguished by the waterfalls, lakes and canyons just a few metres away from the village.