

The village of Faraklada is built at an altitude of 65 meters in a verdant environment and is located 6 kilometres southwest of Kyparissia. The village was formerly known as Fotinos Faros. The name of Fraklada comes from the gorges that existed along the river located south of the village. Its roots go back to the Venetian rule period based on oral traditions.
During the Turkish occupation, the village was the seat of the local aga. Before the Revolution of 1821, the last aga was Mehmet Kousiouris, who granted many privileges to Faraklada. On March 28th, 1821, Chief Kakogiannis (or Karkogiannis) liberated the village and conquered Mehmet Kousiouris’ Tower. After the liberation (1865-1886), many families from Arcadia moved to the village.
In the village’s central square, the visitors can see the Monument of the Heroes who fell in the last century’s wars. They can also visit the church dedicated to the Presentation of the Virgin. The church celebrates on November 21st, where, on that day, a prominent local feast takes place. A festival is also held on July 27th, the feast of Saint Panteleimon, on the occasion of the icon of the Saint that the Arcadians brought with them from their area.