

Spilia is located 6 km southeast of Kyparissia. It is built at an altitude of 85 meters and has about 500 permanent residents. According to the official version of the Municipality of Trifylia, the village took its name from a small cave located near the stream of Skandalis, which the inhabitants used as a place to keep their animals.
The village’s history dates back to 1833 when it was founded by brothers Konstantinos, Georgakis and Ioannis Bitsilas at a location near the Egaleo mountain range. The first inhabitants were members of the Bitsikas, Chinaris and Kanellopoulos families. During the Turkish occupation, just 1 km southeast of the village’s current location, there was a small settlement called Redemiri. In this settlement, the Metropolitan of Christianoupolis, Athanasios, had settled formerly enslaved people (Christians in the religion), whom he had redeemed from the Turks.
In Spilia, with the traditional houses, the visitor can see the two picturesque squares, as well as the Primary School, which was built in the middle of the 19th century. Previously, the education of the village children was done by private teachers in various houses and the church. In the village, there is also a Gymnasium.
Spilia is dominated by the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin, which was built in 1954. There are also four chapels: Agios Georgios, Agios Nektarios, Agios Dimitrios, and Agios Ephraim. Finally, every year, on the feast of the Transfiguration of the Savior (on August 6th) and on the nine-day celebration of the Virgin Mary (on August 22nd/23rd), a large festival with live music takes place in the village.